7 Foods Vegetarians Can Eat At McDonald’s

If you’re a McDonald’s fan as well as a vegetarian, you might feel exhausted when opening the McDonald’s app for ordering food. It’s because of the common thinking that most food options at McDonald’s contain meat and are not fit for vegetarians. We’re here to break the myth by giving you some legit food options vegetarians can eat at McDonald’s.

Vegetarians have many options to play around with and enjoy when ordering from McDonald’s. However, if you’re a vegan, you have to narrow down the choices to enjoy a pure vegan meal with McDonald’s. But don’t worry. Whether you’re a vegetarian or vegan, we have got you covered.

We’re going to share 7 food options vegetarians can eat at McDonald’s. Not only this, but we will also share food options for vegan people. In short, we’re going to share everything you need to know as a vegan or vegetarian before ordering from McDonald’s. So let’s get into it ad explore.

Can You Easily Order From McDonald’s As A Vegan?

If you’re a vegan or vegetarian, finding delicious food options for yourself is always a time-taking job. So, the answer to this question is neither a yes nor a no. In fact, the answer depends on you. It depends on how you conduct the research to find the right food choices for yourself. We hope the guide we’re going to share will help you enjoy McDonald’s food being a vegetarian.

7 Foods Vegetarians Can Eat At McDonald’s

People become vegetarian for many reasons. Some have health-related concerns, while others might be vegetarian as part of their belief. Therefore, restaurants and global food chains always pay attention to catering to this customer segment. Similarly, McDonald’s is also a global brand, and they have many options for vegans and vegetarians. Most Indian population is vegetarian, and McDonald’s has been serving vegetarian customers for years. Therefore, regardless of which country you reside in, you can get many options at McDonald’s as a vegetarian.

The universal vegetarian foods to order at McDonald’s are as follow:

Egg And Cheese Combos

When ordering from McDonald’s, Eggs and Cheese combos are something you can capitalize on as a vegetarian. Although this option is not for vegans, vegetarians can enjoy it. What is the menu in egg and cheese combos to order?

See also  Where Can I Buy Sausage Patties Like Mcdonald’s (Alternative Included)

Eggs and Cheese McMuffin is the first option in these combos. It’s a delicacy made of fresh-range eggs, plain English muffins, and a slice of cheese. It’s enough to provide you a around 300 calories, and it can be added to your breakfast.

It’s just one option of eggs and cheese. If you’re not residing in the USA, you can also capitalize on egg and cheese combos like biscuits, McGriddles, etc. However, in the USA, bacon or beef is added to the biscuits and McGriddles. Therefore, you have to look for active ingredients before ordering.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

A sweet dessert option for vegetarian customers is Chocolate Chip Cookies at McDonald’s. A 2 pack of chocolate chip cookies contain 330 calories that is a healthy option to add in your breakfast or meals. You can order 2 Pack or 3 Pack chocolate chip cookies for your meal. It can be combined with other food options to make a luxury meal for yourself.

Beverages

Beverages are another good thing about McDonald’s because vegetarians can enjoy most of the beverages. However, the choice becomes hard when looking at the menu as a vegetarian.

The beverages categories that you can order without thinking twice includes:

  • Coffees –you never run out of coffee options at McDonald’s. There are a ton of options in Iced Coffee to try. Besides, you can order hot coffee, mochas, lattes, Givana coffee, and signature McCafe coffees. Iced coffee options include:
  • Iced Coffee: Flavored or Black
  • French Vanilla Iced Coffee
  • Iced Caramel Coffee
  • Iced Coffee and Espresso Drinks
  • And a lot more.
  • Slushies – Who doesn’t love slushies in summers? You can try out different flavored slushies at McDonald’s across different parts of the world. The slushies menu might not be as diverse as you think in the USA.
  • Milk – Milk is a universal food that anyone can have at any place. You can order Chocolate Milk, Peppermint Mocha Nonfat Milk, Low Fat milk, etc. With McDonald’s, there is a lot of flavoring and playing around to be done with milk.
  • Juice
  • Shakes
  • Sodas
See also  Why is Mcdonald's Coffee So Hot 2022? - 3 Major Reasons

Snacks

For vegetarians,  you can discover many options and enjoy them in your meals when it comes to snacks. The snack options we have discovered for you can be easily added to the meal menu and get a healthy and nutritious meal.

You can try out the following options in snacks:

  • Hotcakes
  • Blueberry muffin
  • Baked or fried pies
  • Apple slices

Oatmeal

Oatmeal is something most health-conscious people prefer. It’s a common perception that McDonald’s and global food chains do not target health-conscious people. Let’s break the myth. You can order oatmeal from McDonald’s for your breakfast in most parts of the world. Enjoy the signature Fruit and Maple Oatmeal with McDonald’s.

It provides a generous amount of nutrition with up to 320 calories. It contains two servings of oats combined with brown sugar and cream. The oatmeal is seasoned with raisins, green and red apples, cranberries, etc. In short, it’s a perfect breakfast for you!

Pies

Add fried or baked pies to your meal options as a vegetarian. You can try a diverse range of baked and fried pies. Some options of pies include:

  • Pumpkin And Crème Pie
  • Baked Apple Pie
  • Baked Blueberry Pie
  • Blueberry And Crème Pie
  • Fried Taro Pie
  • Apple Pie Ala Mode
  • Fried Apple Pie
  • Fried Coconut Pie
  • Guava And Crème Pie
  • Sweet Potato And Crème Pie
  • Baked And Cherry Pie
  • Strawberry And Crème Pie

And the list goes on.

Ice Creams

If icecreams were non-veg, the world would be a different place. Luckily, you can enjoy a diverse range of McFlurry and Ice cream Sundaes at McDonald’s being a vegetarian. We feel like mentioning some flavors of ice creams to order as a vegetarian:

  • Coffee Almond Fudge Ice Cream
  • Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
  • Oregon Strawberry Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Ice Cream
  • Udderly Chocolate Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

Foods That Are Not Vegan in the US

Some common foods thought to be fit for vegans might not actually be fit. Some foods at McDonald’s that are not vegan include:

  • French Fries contain beef flavor and are also fried in beef fat.
  • Shakes contain milk that is not vegan.
  • Fruit Smoothies are yet another non-vegan one as they contain yogurt.
  • Chocolate Chip Cookies contain eggs and milk, so they are not a vegan option. However, vegetarians can have it.
  • Donut Sticks have sauce and milk –again, non-vegan.
See also  How Does McDonald’s Shift System Work 2022? Is It Flexible?

Foods Vegans Can Eat At McDonald’s

As promised, we will give you a list of food options that vegans can try out. Vegan people are pickier about food like dairy, meat, and animal-derived foods are excluded from the list of vegans diet. However, we have still managed to sort out some options for vegan people trying to order from McDonald’s.

Vegan Bread

You can order any vegan bread options available at McDonald’s in the USA. The vegan bread options you can try are:

  • English muffin
  • Artisan rolls
  • Flour tortilla

Fruit and Maple Oatmeal

Enjoy the signature Fruit and Maple Oatmeal with McDonald’s. It provides a generous amount of nutrition with up to 320 calories.

 It contains two servings of oats combined with brown sugar and cream. The oatmeal is seasoned with raisins, green and red apples, cranberries, etc. In short, it’s a perfect breakfast for you as a vegan.

Vegan Salads

Vegan salads are a blessing for people who don’t eat non-veg and dairy products. Vegan salads to try out at McDonald’s are:

  • Side Salad can be eaten by excluding dressing and cheese from the menu
  • Southwest Salad by excluding cheese or Southwest dressing
  • Other salads can also be tried out by excluding non-vegan ingredients.

Besides the food options we’ve discussed, you can also try out:

  • Plant-based dipping sauces
  • Vegan dressings
  • Vegetables
  • Vegan drinks like sodas, iced coffee without milk, fruit juices, and hot coffee without milk

Final Words

Unlike the common belief, you can still enjoy McDonald’s if you’re a vegan or vegetarian. We have shared a lot of information for you that will guide you when ordering from McDonald’s next time. We hope that you won’t feel frustrated next time when looking at the menu. Because you know the right things, you’re supposed to order from McDonald’s as a vegan or vegetarian.